Suspicious Circumstances

Photo by Peter Trimming for Geograph.org.uk

Header photo by Peter Trimming under Creative Commons 2.0.

I think it started in the morning, but I’m not sure. I was investigating the deaths of a whole class of nursery kids. They appeared to all have killed themselves via papercuts during an activity where they had to design their own magazine of some sort. (Rather daunting task for nursery kids, but oh well.) Tables were placed all around the room with small pulled out chairs next to them. The unfinished magazines, the glue and the scissors all lay on the table, suspiciously clean. If I wasn’t given context, I wouldn’t have thought anything was wrong. But I knew something was wrong and I could feel it in the air, a haunting heavy presence, perhaps the spirits of the early departed. I looked up to my right. There was a glass door leading outside and the daylight passed right through it. The path I could see just a few metres out from the doorway appeared to lead left or right to the playground.

I don’t remember if it was intentional or not, but my first guess was unintentional. This would fall into uncertainty, as it was all too suspicious. By the time I’d looked around, the school day was just ending (nobody seemed to be aware of the deaths.) The bodies of the kids weren’t actually there; there wasn’t even any sign there was anyone there. No blood, nothing. At that point I was alone in a school everyone had just vacated in a nursery where about 30 kids had died hours early – there were no adults in sight and it remained that way until the end. I remember thinking “I’m alone. I just know something nightmarish is about to happen.” The air seemed to pre-emptively become hostile. I don’t think anything truly nightmarish happened though; although that may have had something to do with the fact that I proceeded to run from the nursery as fast as possible, even catching up to someone walking home to talk to them.

When atmosphere itself responds to you and children die in entire groups, to say something is wrong is an understatement. Some investigator I was. Again, I never did find out what happened. But I would see that nursery again, and there would be something visibly wrong.

Leave a Reply

