The Transformation

Header image by Thomas Grant for geograph.co.uk under Creative Commons 2.0.

This dream was one I had last night. It started when I walked out of my house, and saw that a shop was in construction. The scaffoldings were in place and the logo was already there. I believe it was a photo developer? I walked past the scaffolding for days, progress seemingly being unfinished. During this time I remember going to the cinema with my family. Once again, I was under the impression I was going to see Frozen. I know it wasn’t Frozen but I do know it was a Disney musical of some kind. Perhaps my mind made it up. I’m not so sure if it was a conventional cinema; the ground was level, so we all sat on the floor to watch the big screen. We were all okay with this.

The next day was when it really kicked off. The entire street’s buildings had been turned into shops in construction overnight. The street I live in hasn’t been truly quiet for years, but it would never be quiet now. It looked like a high street. It was a high street. I wondered what would ever bring people here. I decided to venture back out and explore. It definitely felt like a high street. But it wasn’t as horribly crowded as the ones I’ve been to, nor was anybody especially loud.

Not turning back, I decided to go to the city. I’m not sure why but I felt like I’d get some answers over there. I don’t know whether my friends’ streets were seeing this sudden expansion too but they were also going to the city. Once there, I was with one friend while the rest made their own way. We met a man who led us into an empty room with somewhat large windows, illuminating the room entirely. He asked us to pick up some things. I picked up a few towels and a table. We walked into a similar room through a door on the far side of the room, lit with ceiling lights instead of windows (although this building was right next to the one I’d just walked into on the street, there should have been windows). I set the table down and put the towels on them. We talked him about what may have been the sudden high street conversion, I don’t know. We walked into his house and noticed his house also had the large windows the first building had, nearly floor-to-ceiling windows. I liked them myself.

He told us that we were allowed to get whatever we wanted from the cupboards and fridge. I didn’t get anything but I did get myself a glass of water. It looked crystal clear at first but I noticed that the water had tiny dirt particles in there. The water supply here was pretty dirty, it seemed. I took out my iPod and started listening to music.

The next day I woke up and I saw that the shop closest to my house was finished, among some others. I wished I’d be able to get a better look at the street. I talked to a man older than the first. He told me the area was owned by someone currently living in Belfast, and it was what he did that turned the place into this. I wasn’t too angry, really. But I told him that I would find it hard to cope with such rapid change. That a shop was literally right next door to where I lived. That I only needed to go outside for every supply I needed to be within only a few hundred steps.

Leave a Reply

