Story A Day, Day 10 – Transcendence

Header image by Feureau under Creative Commons 3.0.

The night he ascended will be a night I will never forget, not in these days so dangerous and nights so wary. I was the first to know of the rapid rise of “Shiva”. It was the day before we had an essay due in; the people in the class that hadn’t already handed it in were hard at work studying at home, in the library, with their friends – and we were among those people. I was nested in the translated works of Confucius in paper form, engine mind working through the daze of hunger when I received the first texts.

“Oh my god.”

“I’ve done it. I’ve figured it out.”

Naturally, I assumed he’d just finished his essay and was revelling in the fact. So I humoured him, procrastinator that I am.

“Alright, alright. No need to rub it in my face, I’ll be done soon.”

I went back to work and assumed the reply would be equally lighthearted, which made it all the more surprising that he sent three replies instead of one. Whatever this was, I might as well see what it is.

“No. You’re not getting this.”

“I’ve found the answers. The true answers.”

“Everything everybody we’ve ever studied was working for this and I’ve done it.”

This was understandably somewhat unnerving for me now. If he was this enthusiastic about finishing his work, he’d have handed it in long ago. I tested the waters and simply made my puzzlement clear. One word, simple.

“What?”

Fearing what might come of it, and then fearing what might come of not replying, I tapped send and waited. One minute. Two minutes. He wasn’t making this easy for me. Then the reply came and I knew we’d lost him.

“With this, I can do whatever I want.”

“In other words, I’ve transcended this human form.”

“I am a god now.”

Leave a Reply

