Death, Rebirth and Cleansing

Header image by S Yao under Creative Commons 3.0.

Last night I dreamt a friend of mine announced their rebirth online, and the subsequent death of their previous self.

I wasn’t sure what to make of it. The first thing to catch my eye was the sentence announcing their death. It looked like somebody had taken their place and announced their death in their place, and it looked just like that. They’d changed their profile entirely, and all comments were gone as if they were cleansing their connections as well as all other remnants of their past life.

My first thought was that they held the belief they’d ascended, whatever “ascended” would constitute. For the few moments I read their announcement on their own profile, my blood ran cold. I was afraid they were somebody I no longer knew, and they no longer knew me, that I was nothing more than a stepping stone.

They had a new profile picture too. Something that seemed more elegant and grand.

I was caught off guard, to say the least. It really did seem to me like they’d been reborn, at a cost. I guess everybody they’d left behind were that cost.

I woke up, or so I thought. I went to tell them of my supposed dream still in shock to some degree, but something was holding me back. I don’t remember ever telling them what happened.

Leave a Reply

