Beginning of the End

Cropped header image by Šarūnas Burdulis under Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike 2.0 Generic.

Last night I dreamt I lived on an Earth in a corrupted timeline, a universe that only had a month left before the end of time.

There existed three large moons around the planet; Luna, Celeste and Kingmaker. The existence of Luna was standard, though Celeste and Kingmaker were both unique to this Earth; I didn’t know how either of them had gotten their names, but it was told that they would only appear in the sky near the end of the world. What this meant was a complete mystery to everyone and what to do about it even more so, but in this dream it fell down to me to do something about it. I wasn’t sure how or why, but deep down something told me that it was up to me to fix this universe to keep it in existence using the appearances of the three moons in existence.

The order was Luna, Celeste, Kingmaker, with the end of time starting from Luna’s penultimate full moon in the daytime and ending with the appearance of Kingmaker’s full moon in the daytime sky alongside the final full moons of Luna and Celeste, though both Celeste and Kingmaker’s first appearance would be new moons – they looked very similar to Luna, even if they were slightly different colours. I didn’t know what would happen when Kingmaker’s full moon appeared but it wasn’t something I wanted to find out.

I was staying with family on holiday at the time at a holiday house in an unknown part of the world. It was mid to late summer; there was that warm orange haze around every afternoon and I remember how beautiful the lake the house overlooked was. I’d go out with some or all of my family every day for walks, picnics and even trips out in the nearby town. I spared some time every day to be by myself to get to work on restoring the universe – I’d make an excuse some days, other days I’d end up having spare time to myself. Even I don’t know what I did, however; during these times I’d dissociate and I’d instead be seeing what my family were doing in their holiday home. I’d seen almost as much of the interior of my holiday home than the sky, which I’m more than okay with.

Two weeks into the holiday, I noticed Celeste’s full moon in the early afternoon sky for the first time. I stared; what this meant didn’t register to me even as I looked right at it. For a harbinger of the end, it looked beautiful next to Luna and would surely look even more beautiful in the night sky. I hoped Celeste and Kingmaker would still be there after all of this, and continued as normal. Kingmaker was nowhere to be seen. I still don’t know what I did. Not even where I went when I fixed the universe. Nobody else knew anything and all I know is that I did it three weeks in, before I ever saw Kingmaker.

The last scene I remember is packing my bags late in the afternoon in my holiday home after a long day out. I remember thinking I was going to miss this place, visualising how plain daily life in my own home was in comparison. I remember the orange haze growing more and more intense until I saw nothing…then the dream ended.

I have to wonder if it was really me or someone working through me.

Leave a Reply

